What Would You Do If… ??

… if someone you knew was about to get involved with a sociopath, what would you do? Do you warn the person, hoping the person isn’t too far gone to realize it’s not too late to turn back around? Or do you mind your own business and hope for the best outcome?

 

For me, I can’t just sit still and watch a blind man (or woman) fall into a ditch. That’s not me.

 

However, we can never be so sure that maybe warning someone might be the cause of a disaster, whereas the warned person uses this info to their advantage to help facilitate their ulterior motive for the sociopath. That’s not me, either.

 

Although I have no romantic interest in neither the sociopath or it’s victim, there’s a part of me that will always  feel funny knowing what I know and not doing anything about it. If something tragic were to happen, I would never be able to forgive myself.

 

On the other hand, people can become highly offended when they hear the truth about someone they don’t want to think of in any other light but the way the person has presented themselves. Sociopaths, especially, get highly vindictive when they’ve been exposed. This might backfire if I try to intervene.

 

If you were in this situation, what would you do?

 

 

 

© 2013 Learus Ohnine

 

 

15 thoughts on “What Would You Do If… ??

  1. I think it depends on how close you are to this person. If you’re very close I would gently and rationally explain why I feel this way about this person and my conclusions about their nature. Less close and I would warn them, tell them that this person gives me a bad feeling and to please be careful. Either way delicacy is important, because you (I assume) don’t want to alienate them, that way you can be there for them, to support them, in case they choose to ignore their advice. If they don’t listen I would advise against trying to get them to, sometimes our friends have to make their own mistakes and learn their lessons the hard way. It hurts to watch, but in that case all we can do is be there for them.

    Like

  2. I’ve had the same dilemma since I learned that my sociopathic ex-husband has moved in with a new woman, while he’s been pursuing me and trying to get me back. I feel really sorry for her as she most likely doesn’t know what she’s in for, and she seems like a good person. I wish that someone would have warned me when I met my ex-husband, it would have saved me so much suffering. So I thought about warning the woman, it felt like the right thing to do, but I realised that it would cause him to seek revenge -and I’m so happy to finally be rid of his sick schemes. In the end I chose to protect myself from further contact with him, but I still worry about the other woman.

    Like

    • Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this. If someone had of warned you ahead of time, do you think you would have listened? Probably, probably not. I hate to admit it but sometimes we get so caught up in the idealism of the image these monsters create of themselves that its normal to overlook the obvious read flags right in front of our faces, even if someone else points them out to us. I think right now, your ex’s new interest is so caught up in the euphoria of his words, warning her might not do much good anyhow. And like you said, all he’ll wind up doing is getting revenge, and these monsters usually do this by trashing your good reputation. Thanks again for sharing. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

