What Would You Do If… ??

… if someone you knew was about to get involved with a sociopath, what would you do? Do you warn the person, hoping the person isn’t too far gone to realize it’s not too late to turn back around? Or do you mind your own business and hope for the best outcome?

 

For me, I can’t just sit still and watch a blind man (or woman) fall into a ditch. That’s not me.

 

However, we can never be so sure that maybe warning someone might be the cause of a disaster, whereas the warned person uses this info to their advantage to help facilitate their ulterior motive for the sociopath. That’s not me, either.

 

Although I have no romantic interest in neither the sociopath or it’s victim, there’s a part of me that will always  feel funny knowing what I know and not doing anything about it. If something tragic were to happen, I would never be able to forgive myself.

 

On the other hand, people can become highly offended when they hear the truth about someone they don’t want to think of in any other light but the way the person has presented themselves. Sociopaths, especially, get highly vindictive when they’ve been exposed. This might backfire if I try to intervene.

 

If you were in this situation, what would you do?

 

 

 

© 2013 Learus Ohnine